Test Cricket – A Brief History

Test Cricket – A Brief History

Test Cricket matches, are a well-loved and well-honoured form of sporting activity. It is one of the oldest sports in the world and has many followers all over the world. Cricket is a game played between teams of varying disciplines and ability. There are many levels of play from the very young; those who have just started playing at school level to professionals who have played for their countries and earned international status. Cricket is not just a game; it is much more than that.

Test cricket

Test cricket is the highest form of this sport

with the highest total match duration, and hence is regarded as the premier game of cricket. Usually four teams of twenty-four players are involved in a Test match; four wickets are given to the batsmen and three to the bowlers, who try to knock out the total number of runs to win the match. Test matches usually last for three days, but some might be played on longer periods of days, like a three-day Test series. Bowling matches may also be played on shorter periods of days.

The four bowlers are bowler, off spinner, wicket keeper and batsman. There is normally a designated batsman who completes the foursome. The wicket keepers try to prevent the runs by catching or blocking the ball, while the bowlers try to hit the ball past the wicket keeper, who tries to stop the runs. Batsmen are generally allowed to hit the ball at any point along the wicket-keeper’s boundary, but a run can only occur when the batsman hits the ball over that boundary.

As in other Tests, all the players involved taking part in all the plays in a Test match. Batting conditions vary according to the condition of the ground. The length of the umpire’s turf can also affect the running conditions for the batsmen. The number of runs that are scored in a Test match is usually written on the score card immediately after a draw is announced. There are only eleven players involved in a draw; three from each team.

In test matches, ten overs remain in play at any one time. This duration of ten overs is referred to as ‘one ball hour’. The overs are normally started with three balls for each wicket and two extra players are allowed on each side for the duration of the over. No more than fifty overs can be played over an hour in a one-ball hour. Other terms relating to a Test cricket over include ‘over’ and ‘inning’, which are used to describe the interval during which a Test cricket match is being played.

Test series are scheduled to occur at designated venues. These venues are generally known as Test grounds. They differ between countries and regions, with some variations in terms of the names of the venues. In most cases, the home team gets three days to rest at home before playing their next match while other teams have five days to play.

Test cricket is governed by the global Cricket Council (icc). Among the official sops, there are proposals put forward by various governing bodies for the scheduling of matches. One such proposal is to shorten the duration of the Test series to one day. The main reason cited behind this is that more number of players would be able to participate in these matches. However, the main problem with such proposal is that most matches end up to be one day matches.

Australia and England are two of the strongest teams in the world. They have been champions in their respective leagues and have a good chance to be at the top of the ladder in the IPL. This season was a unique one for both teams as they were playing for their lives against Sri Lanka in the IPL final. Although they won the match, it was an overall disappointing performance by the team and a lesson for all other teams that play for the same position.

Stay up to date
Register now to get updates on promotions and coupons

Shopping cart