Lancashire Wrestling Tradition

Lancashire Wrestling Tradition

Lancashire wrestling was originally known as “galloping”. It was a popular form of folk wrestling that included an elephant (Aweber). Galloping was frequently used as a training technique for the military. The name came about due to the way that the wrestlers would charge to the center of the ring with their opponents.

Lancashire wrestling is an ancient folk Submission wrestling style in Lancashire, England. It’s thought to be an ancestor of modern catch-as-catch-can wrestling, folk and professional wrestling. It’s also been called British wrestling or British bull-baiting. This style has been known to be the predecessor of American folk style.

The first stage in the development of this particular style of wrestling was in Cumberland. In the mid fifteen hundreds the first promoters of this new style of wrestling travelled to Cumberland to demonstrate to the locals. This was the first time that professional wrestling was showcased in Cumberland. Professional wrestling matches took place in the local courts. This is when the term Cumbrian wrestling developed. A wrestling match could take place in the local courts.


Lancashire wrestling


From Cumberland the pioneers of catch wrestling travelled to Scotland. There they perfected the art of catch-as-catch-can and developed the art that is known today as Lapsing. It was here that the art of catching an opponent was named. The early promoters of Lapsing had little interest in the ranking systems. They wanted to promote the skill that the people of Lancashire had already mastered; they wanted to promote amateur wrestlers instead of professionals.

Once Lapsing developed its international following it was popular throughout England, Scotland and Wales. When the American Colonizers came to America they borrowed many of the techniques from Catch Wrestling. After the war the American wrestling scene became very professional. Many promotions from America started to be called Lapsing or catch wrestling.

After the First World War the Second World War swept away everything that had been built up by the amateur wrestling stars of the previous centuries. The European wrestling scene became weak due to the lack of participation from the European population. Many wrestling organizations lost a lot of their European followers. Many European promoters took up their training methods and promotion and returned the favour to the British wrestling tradition. When the British regained their independence after the war many wrestling organisations changed their name to Lapsing or catch wrestling.

As mentioned before this sport has its roots in the historic amateur wrestling of the eighteenth and nineteenth century. In the twenty-first century the sport underwent many changes that effected the different styles of wrestling in the professional wrestling league. There were a few wrestlers in the sport who made it to the big leagues and even won titles. The following generations of wrestlers tried their hand at learning the new styles but they all failed to overcome the older schools.

The UK wrestling scene has had much success in the Twenty-one and has only gotten better since. In the current age of professional wrestling in the UK has three weight divisions. These are the UK Championship, the British Heavyweight Championship and the European Heavyweight Championship. The European Wrestling Super Series is the only championship that does not have a weight division. This is mainly because of the fact that there are only two weight divisions in this championship; the heavyweight and the cruiserweight.

The cruiserweight class is mainly for British Champions. The British Heavyweight title is also contested between British Champions, however, the belts are now separated due to the fact that there are now two classes instead of one. The main event of the Super Series is always a no-contest affair. No matter how many times a wrestler has been defeated in a tournament, he must first rest before the next match. The winner of each match must then defend his or her title against another opponent within a specified time period.

The European Wrestling Super Series has four different weight classes. There is the European Super Six, European Super Seven, European Super Eight and the European Super Nine. Each of these weight divisions features their own catch wrestling styles. The European Super divisions have caught the attention of many wrestling fans all over the world. There is even a television show in the UK dedicated to the various tournaments and stars of this sport.

This article is under GNU FDL license and can be distributed without any previous authorization from the author. However the author’s name and all the URLs (links) mentioned in the article and biography must be kept. Any other use of this material is strictly prohibited.

Stay up to date
Register now to get updates on promotions and coupons

Shopping cart